Skip to content

Homeschoolers Unite!

July 24, 2010

I work with a group that travels to several different conferences throughout the year, speaking and whatnot. They happen to be at a church conference about an hour from where I live, so I met them to see what they’re up to.

Now, I’m not a flashy dresser (there’s a point to this statement). I like to wear color, but not a lot of crazy patterns or even skin (modest is hottest, yo!). And I dabble in the art of large-earring-wearing. So when I walked into the church, big earrings and Converse shoes completing my outfit, I was a bit taken aback when to feel like half the people were looking at me. Groups of clean-cut high school boys seemed to be trying to figure out how I wandered into their shindig.

Then it dawned on me: I was wearing jeans. And earrings. And my hair was curled. The other girls? Yeah, they were in ankle-length skirts and their hair had probably never been cut. And judging from the other booths at the conference, it’s a good guess that “conservative” would be an understatement when describing their political leanings.

Let’s just say that when the speaker (a guy from our ministry) asked what we thought was a good vacation, I didn’t chime in with “A trip to the new World of Harry Potter amusement park!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

