Skip to content

Pioneer Living

July 31, 2010

I just finished reading Willa Cather’s O Pioneers! (the exclamation point is part of the title, oddly enough). It takes place on the Nebraska frontier in the early 1900s and it got me thinking about the midwest and road trips on the open road, surrounded by land and nothing but small towns here and there. Not that I’ve been on this type of cross-country road trip…but it’s how I imagine it

But before I go any farther, let me take a moment to tell you how much I love Willa Cather. I’ve read three of her novels and each one is about a strong woman who grows up on the harsh frontier. If you enjoy Pride and Prejudice and strong female characters like Elizabeth Bennett, then I would highly recommend Cather. Just don’t expect it to be as full of romance and happiness. But each book I read ends on a satisfying note, nonetheless.

Back to the road trip across the frontier. I’ve wanted to take a road trip across the US, ending in Portland, Oregon, for years. Since I can’t do that right now, the next best thing, of course, is imagining what I would take on said trip. Here are a few must-haves and then a dream item after that.

1. Twizzlers: The perfect road trip snack–no fuss, no mess, nuff said.

2. Good camera: I don’t actually own this yet…but I want one. A LOT.

3. iPod: One of the absolute essentials of any road trip is a good playlist. Absolute. Essential.

4. Books: The key is bringing along a variety of books so you can choose a book based on your mood.

5. Good jacket: A light, versatile jacket. It’s just the smart thing to do.

6. Chacos: The greatest shoes ever. Absolutely comfortable and you can wear them in the rain and hiking. I could go on, but this blog entry is already too long.

And now, for the dream item. A cute little trailer, completely with bed, table and kitchen. This Scamp can be found on bigBang Studio. They’re currently on a trip with it, and it just looks amazing. No need for a hotel or tent, just take this along.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

