Skip to content

The Mother Land

August 6, 2010

I was born and grew up in North Carolina, but for the past 6 months I’ve been living in Georgia. I came home to North Carolina for my mom’s birthday and on my way here I was thinking about the differences between the two states. You wouldn’t think there would be a lot, but there most definitely is. Here are just a few:

  1. I know I’m getting closer to NC because drivers become faster and more aggressive. And I love it. Maybe the police officers in Georgia have successfully scared drivers into going the speed limit, but they are almost always a whole heckuva lot slower in Georgia than NC. Technically, I guess this is a good, law-abiding thing to do, but I’d rather take my chances and go faster.
  2. Minimum speeds. This is along the same lines as number one, and something I absolutely don’t understand. South Carolina and Georgia both have minimum speeds and I think it’s a massive conspiracy to cause reasonable drivers to burst a blood vessel. If they insist on having a minimum speed, at least make it 60, not 40. If you’re going 40 on the interstate, then you don’t need to be driving.
  3. Everybody loves the University of Georgia. There is a very small population that loves Georgia Tech, but when I say very small, I mean about a three block radius in downtown Atlanta. Everyone else loves UGA, whereas in NC, there are several schools that have their diehard fans. UNC Chapel Hill, Duke, NC State and App State to name a few. It’s kind of refreshing to live in a place where there isn’t constant bickering about which school is best. I’ve also never seen so much red and black in my life—everything is red and black in Georgia.
  4. Big houses abound. North Carolina has large houses, especially in north Raleigh. And then there’s the Biltmore. But Georgia has McMansions everywhere and they all look like they’ve been built in the last 10 years and they’re usually close together. Perhaps part of it is that there are so many people in this area, that there are tons more houses in the first place. I swear it’s like a Monopoly board around here.

Those are just a few of the differences between North Carolina and Georgia, and living here has definitely been a learning experience. For example, did you know that it’s a common practice to go hog hunting? These are hogs that have escaped from pig farms and now live in the forest. Yeah, just think about going for a hike and coming across a massive, wild hog. I’ll leave you with that thought to ponder.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 11:23 pm

    I’d like to think you included App in that list because of me. If I’m not the reason, don’t tell me. I want to feel special.

Leave a Reply

