Skip to content

Why Release a Dove When You Could Eat It?

September 9, 2010

My time in Georgia has been interesting. This is not the part of Georgia full of rappers and Tyler Perry characters. This is the part of Georgia you’d see in Steel Magnolias or Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood. My experiences in Georgia include shooting a handgun (or 2) for the first time.

This was right before a piece of shrapnel flew up and hit Carla in the forehead.

I’ve also eaten more venison than any other time in my life, tried fried green tomatoes for the first time (quite good, by the way) and fried catfish. But perhaps the oddest thing I’ve eaten while in Georgia was found at dinner yesterday evening.

What you see above is dove. Yes, you read correct: dove. As in the birds they release at weddings.

I have no idea if this is the type of dove we had...but this is a non-wedding dove.

Fret not, though. I’m pretty sure these were not white doves. Or if they were, it was still legal. Each little dove breast was about the size of a chicken nugget.

Tangent: If I made a list of things I never thought I’d say or write, the previous sentence would be included. Each little dove breast was about the size of a chicken nugget? What the what?

They had been marinating all day and then were cooked with a bit of bacon wrapped around them. And they were quite good. My motto is that I’ll eat almost anything once as long as I don’t have to pay for it. Which is why I’ve also eaten squirrel stew in the past (not in Georgia). Plus, it was wrapped in bacon. And any respectable non-vegetarian always accepts food wrapped in bacon.

Anyone out there eaten something you never thought you would?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

