Skip to content

Shiny Art

September 30, 2010

I’ve only spent a few days in New York City, but the first time I ever went was in college when Christo and Jean-Claude had installed The Gates. It was just amazing to see trails of orange “flags” crossing over Central Park for miles and miles. I know a lot of people see things like that and wonder what makes it art (a debate for another day), but I am always amazed and inspired by large outdoor art installations.

 

One of my favorite photos I took while in NYC.

 

I saw one that I could stare at for hours over on Fast Co Design’s blog. It’s shiny, for pete’s sake!

 

Image via fastcodesign.com

 

This installation was made by the married couple SO-IL for the art festival Get It Louder, currently in Beijing. It’s made of thousands of metallic shingles attached on one edge to the main structure so they can move in the wind. The effect makes it look like a shimmering skirt. Go here to see a video  and more photos of the structure.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

