Skip to content

Books I Wish I’d Written

October 6, 2010

I have a few book ideas roaming around inside my head and have mapped out a plan of attack for one these books. But then I see jewels like these and ask myself, what’s the point? Haven’t all the great books already been written? What could I possibly have to add to the conversation? Also, these books make me wish I’d been a teen in the 70s or 80s. Because they obviously knew what it really meant to be cool back then.

Lorraine Peterson was actually pretty prolific. And look at those kids! You know that when you were a teen you wanted to be just like them. But my favorite book is actually one my old roommate owned. If I remember correctly, she received it one year at a white elephant gift exchange.

I should mention that I actually looked up the author of this book, Edith Margaret Clarkson, and she seemed like a pretty remarkable woman. She wrote hymns and published 17 books during her lifetime. But my 21st century jaded sense of humor chuckles at this title and the cover. It reminds me of the guy who carries his guitar everywhere, fully aware that guitars are kryptonite for youth group girls. All you have to know is three chords and girls are putty in your hands.

Maybe I’ll write a sequel to So You’re Single! and title it So You’re Married Friends Go To Bed Five Hours Before You!: Reflections on what to do with all that extra time alone.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Meredith permalink
    October 15, 2010 8:55 am

    Oh yes, I remember it well. The combination of the cover and title really give it that quality feel. I did for the record, read it- as the cover alone beconed me.

Leave a Reply

