Skip to content

Things That Annoy Me More Than They Should

October 27, 2010

We all have them, whether we admit it or not. We like to believe we’re easy-going like Sunday afternoon, but we each have a thing. Or two. A thing that annoys us so much it brings us to the brink of insanity. Not all of them are exactly normal or widely held. We can all agree that bad drivers are annoying or people who incessantly click their pens should be subject to criminal investigation. But what about those that come out of nowhere and the intensity of our hatred makes no logical sense to anyone except ourselves? Here are a few of mine:

Bathroom fans and oven fans: Sure, they’re okay when you’re actually using the bathroom or cooking on the stove, but as soon (as soon) as you’re done with said activity, turn the stinking thing off. The white noise of these fans makes my skin crawl and I can’t concentrate on anything until the noise of these somewhat useless things are turned off.

Stupid oxymorons: Hey, Vertical Horizon—maybe if your band name weren’t obnoxious, you’d have become the next U2 (or not). And the next time someone uses “whisper loud” as an attempt to be poetic, I’m going to punch them softly in the face.

Animal and nature shows: I like dogs and ducks and of course baby animals are cute. But I don’t want to see how wild animals actually live. I don’t need to see a lion eating a wildebeest or see a fish lay eggs in the ocean. I like to watch cute bunny videos on YouTube, but that is the extent of my animal watching, thank you very much.

People who brag about not watching TV: When people say there is nothing worth watching on TV, I feel the need to call in all their friends and family for an intervention. We’d calmly and rationally explain to them that no one is impressed by their refusal to watch television. We’d continue by explaining that to write off the medium completely is like giving up books just because you accidentally wandered into the Harlequin romance section of Barnes & Noble.

The font Scriptina: Even I can’t explain this one. It just gets on my nerves—all big and scripty and loopy. Calm down, Scriptina! There’s no need to be so overzealous.

People who move to a new city/state and then constantly talk about how great their old city/state was: Listen, I know we all like to harken back to the good old days. But do me a favor and move back to the golden city from whence you came. If their food is better, if their drivers are less annoying, if their weather is better, then maybe that’s a sign. And maybe the fact that my eyes glaze over every time you talk about your home state is a sign too.

Chime in: What is one of your irrational pet peeves?

*I got the idea for this blog post from Jessica Hische. Check out her list here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tyler permalink
    October 28, 2010 12:24 am

    I’d like to just second the people that don’t watch tv one, aka so congratulations on allowing us absolutely nothing to talk about.

    Also dislike Dislike things cause they’re popular Guy. Things become popular cause they’re good, except for Clay Aiken.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      October 28, 2010 8:50 am

      Oh, good one. I see that happen with Harry Potter and I have a hard time thinking I could ever be friends with someone who refuses to give Harry a chance just because he’s popular.

  2. Amanda Strayer permalink
    October 28, 2010 8:33 am

    When people shush me. It makes me so irrational I could hit someone. If you think I’m exaggerating, ask my husband.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      October 28, 2010 8:51 am

      Oh yes, I remember this about you. Maybe that’s why you have rebellious tendencies when it comes to authority… 🙂

Leave a Reply

