Skip to content

Spending my Lottery Winnings

November 3, 2010

I am a daydreamer. Give me 30 seconds of downtime and I’m lost in another world. One of my favorite things to daydream about is what I’d do if I ever won $100 million in the lottery. Silly? Yes. Fun? Heck yes. I have the obvious things, like buying my parents a house and giving tons of money to my favorite non-profits, charities and ministries.

The real fun, though, is thinking of ridiculous things to spend money on. Here are a few of mine:

Fill an unused oil container with the cream from a Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pie. My favorite part of Honey I Shrunk the Kids is when they find the Oatmeal Cream Pie in the yard. So I’ll create my own sugar overdose. And no, I don’t think about how it would attract ants and whatnot. I don’t over-think these things.

Make a huge marshmallow. Whenever I drive by a hayfield with the huge cylindrical bales, I imagine them as huge marshmallows. Take a moment to picture a s’more using a marshmallow that large. If I’m ever ridiculously wealthy, I will make that a reality, and then invite my friends over for the world’s greatest s’more party.

A Jeep Wagoneer with a new engine. I love the Wagoneers from the late 80s and early 90s. I don’t know what it is about them—they just seem destined to be part of a great adventure. I’d buy one and put a new, fuel efficient engine in it. Then drive across the country listening to great music with the windows down. Also, I would have a mechanic on-call because I hate dealing with car stuff.

Hire a masseuse to be on call. I’ve never had a massage, but I daydream about having one. I have a feeling that if I ever have one, I will become addicted, so having a masseuse on call would be required.

Build my own candy room like Willy Wonka’s. Why do so many of my daydreams include sweets? This one is because Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is one of my all-time favorite books and I love both movie versions. So of course I’d want my own candy room with a miniature version of the chocolate river. I wouldn’t want to go overboard with a full-size one. Moderation. It’s all about moderation.

What frivolous things would you buy with $100 million?


3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 10:05 pm

    i’d want my own theme music to play wherever i went and i’d want everyone to be able to hear it. i feel like 100 million could make that happen.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      November 4, 2010 11:04 am

      That is an excellent idea! Surely it would also result in high-speed car chases and dramatic reunions.

Trackbacks

  1. 10 People who should win the Mega Millions Lottery « Taking Back Tiffany

Leave a Reply

