Skip to content

True Confessions: Part 2

November 18, 2010

Yesterday I confessed to disliking five things that a lot of people have deemed worthy of praise and honor. Today, I will reveal a few of my guiltiest pleasures. The things that I only admit to liking after being sure that either I won’t be judged for my love, or that I don’t care if that particular person judges me.

1. Hanson: Don’t judge them by their one mega-hit “MmmBop.” They have grown literally (they each have about 17 kids) and musically. Just take a look at the video at the bottom of this entry. Sure, the album they’re best known for sounds like chipmunks on helium, but their new stuff is actually really, really good. And this is coming from someone who hates listening to the radio and fully confesses to being a music snob. Some of my love is based on nostalgia, thinking back to summers spent at the pool with my best friend listening to Hanson on repeat. Since then, my appreciation for their music has grown and matured. No, really. Although I still think Taylor is cute. Just being honest.

2. Slim Jims: Sure, it’s a stick of meat that is probably 85% plastic, but it is tasty, tasty plastic. Step* Snap into a Slim Jim? Don’t mind if I do.

3. What Happens in Vegas: My tirade against Matthew McConaughey may lose any credibility when I admit to really, really liking this Ashton Kutcher/Cameron Diaz movie. I don’t know why I like it so much. The characters are mean to each other and no one in the movie holds to values I find important, but I watch this movie just about every time I see that it’s on TV. I don’t know what’s wrong with me.

4. Golf: You either love it or hate it. I don’t actually play golf, but I really enjoy watching it on TV, which is worse than if I actually played. I’m amazed that players can hit a tiny white ball so far and with such precision. I went to a driving range once and hit maybe three golf balls out of an entire bucket. And I use the term “hit” here loosely. Golf can be relaxing one minute and then totally blow your mind when something crazy happens, like a little leaf lands right in the path of the ball and totally ruins a putt.

5. Hallmark movies: I think it’s a sign of maturity that I can handle more cheesy declarations than I used to be able to handle. There was a time in my life when the mere thought of a couple openly declaring to the world their love for each other on something like Facebook would make me vomit. I still think there’s a line that shouldn’t be crossed, but I believe my steady diet of melodramatic Hallmark movies helped me grow into someone who can handle the cheese. So I admit it—I love Hallmark movies. I love Hallmark commercials. I love the cheese. Sure, I rail against Nicholas Sparks, but that’s because he kills off characters like he’s playing Whack-a-Mole at Chuck E. Cheese. At least in Hallmark movies, people live most of the time and live happily ever after.

Now fess up: What are some of your guilty pleasures?

*Thanks Paul!


3 Comments leave one →
  1. Schniff Schnaff Shalomie permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:21 am

    It’s actually “Snap into a Slim Jim, (OH YEAH!)” with Macho man Randy Savage. I like them too. Also, I have to admit, the video was fun.

  2. November 18, 2010 2:42 pm

    holy crow. you like what happens in vegas? i’m pretty sure i can quote the entire movie…. its eerie how similar our tastes are!

  3. November 19, 2010 9:26 am

    I totally support your Hanson love! I’ve been listening to my Hanson Christmas CD for the past couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

