Skip to content

Saturday Music: Mumford and Sons

December 11, 2010

Mumford and Sons: Great if you like The Decemberists, banjos, British music and solid lyrics.

I am really bad about listening to the lyrics of even my favorite songs. I can hear a song dozens of times before I really hear the lyrics. But I recently began listening to Mumford and Sons and the lyrics stood out to me faster than any other album I’ve ever listened to. Maybe it’s because they’re British and their lovely accents show through even in their singing. Either way, I can’t get enough of their album “Sigh No More” and I keep going back to it over and over again.

I also don’t believe you’ve really heard an album until you’ve listened to it in your car. I drive a Nissan Versa with the factory-installed speakers, so my sound system is nothing to get excited about, but it’s better than my laptop speakers. The other night I was driving and listening to Mumford and Sons with enough volume to cause hearing damage. It was totally worth it. I got stuck on this one song—a song that gives me goosebumps because of the music as well as lyrics. The title is Roll Away Your Stone and it has already been added to my list of all-time favorite songs. One verse in particular gets me every time:

It seems that all my bridges have been burned
But you say that’s exactly how this grace thing works
It’s not the long walk home that will change this heart
But the welcome I receive with a restart

And that’s just one verse from one song. Seriously—listen to this song and then go to Amazon where they have the mp3 album on sale this month for $5. You will not regret it, unless you don’t like good music.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

