Skip to content

Photo a Day

January 6, 2011

I used to love taking photos. Something about capturing the world around me always gave me a thrill. I was the photographer at a summer camp for a few summers and I loved being able to record the fun of each week. It was always exciting when I looked back through the photos and could see the story unfold.

But sometime in the last 5 or so years, I just fell out of love with it. Part of the problem is that everyone and their cousin who was laid off decided to start their own photography business. And I’ll admit to being one of those persons who loses interest in something when everyone else starts to like it. I also have never had a great camera to use or the money to buy one (and all the lenses and other accessories available).

Recently, though, I’ve had a renewed interest in it, despite my lack of a great camera and despite its ever-increasing popularity. You work with what you’ve got, right? Then today I saw this flickr group from Parker Fitzgerald. Each day he took a Polaroid photo and added a quote to it. And if there’s one thing I love, it’s a great quote. After looking through his photos, I decided to do the same.

Beginning tomorrow I’ll be taking a photo a day for the next 365 days, adding a quote, and posting them here. Nothing new or groundbreaking, but hopefully a fun exercise and a way to reignite my love for photography. I hope you enjoy the photos and quotes, and if not then I’ll still be posting regular entries as well.

Photo by Parker Fitgerald

One Comment leave one →
  1. Schniff Schnaff Shalomie permalink
    January 6, 2011 4:44 pm

    I still enjoy photography, but it is hard having the restriction of not having the best equipment. I mean, I like my camera (it’s even been used by the great DTDorrin), but being 6 years old brings its share of limits. All that holds me back from doing anything more than casual stuff, or pictures for whatever ministry I’m with. (I really loved being the unofficial photographer for UrbanPromise Wilmington while I was there… had an excuse to play with the camera.)

    But I’ve fallen a bit away from it as well. Maybe it’s because I filled my external harddrive with pictures…

Leave a Reply

