Skip to content

So Overrated

January 13, 2011

I love any and all types of music except pop country. Just not a fan of the twangy-ness and the fact that country songs are about the same three subjects over and over.

But as much as I love music, there are a few bands or musicians that are revered and loved by many, and I just can’t get into them. I try and see what the big fuss is about, but I just end up bored or annoyed. And then there are those songs that have been so overplayed and put on a pedestal of such height, that I can’t help but feel nauseated every time I hear them. Here are a few of those:

Bob Dylan: I’m sorry, please don’t hate me. I just don’t get it. His music is boring and his voice is like listening to a flock of seagulls as they attack a dead fish on the beach. I know his lyrics were cutting edge and he sang what everyone else wanted to say, but that’s not a good enough reason for me to listen to his music. Unless I’m trying to fall asleep and want to dream about about bird attacks.

U2: This confession has actually upset people in the past. I really do like some of their music and I appreciate everything Bono has done to raise awareness about people in need around the world. But do they deserve the blind devotion that so many of their millions of fans give them? Not so much.

“At Last,” by everyone, but especially Etta James: I am so sick of this song. Every girl with even half a singing voice uses this song as proof that they should be famous. Cover Girl uses it on their commercials for some sort of lipstick. Any montage of romantic films isn’t complete without this song. We get it! You have found your love, at last! Can we not find another song to express the joy of finding love?

“Respect,” by Aretha Franklin: I get it, you get, we all get it. Show some respect. Spell the word respect and the meaning is even more understood. Also, what the heck does the lyric “Take care TCB” mean? Did she mean to say “TCBY” because of her love of frozen treats? I just don’t get it.

Fess up–what are some universally loved musicians or songs that you can’t stand?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 5:12 pm

    Brilliant. U2 sucks.

    Paul McCartney. I just don’t get it.

  2. Paul permalink
    January 14, 2011 10:11 am

    “Imagine” by John Lennon.

    The lyrics just give me the creeps.

  3. Daniel Strayer permalink
    January 17, 2011 11:16 am

    Totally agree with U2. I am the one who is ridiculed to no end when I point out their musical mediocrity.

    The Beatles are right up there for me too. I know, I know. They changed the music world forever, blah, blah, blah. But can we get some lyrical variety instead of just repeating the same verse and chorus relentlessly until all the teeny-boppers stop screaming? Maybe if they we also talented musicians before becoming a band, that may have helped.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      January 18, 2011 3:33 pm

      It seems that The Beatles and their solo projects are less popular than one would believe. They’ve come up a few times when people talk about bands that are overrated. I like them and all, but I don’t think I’d say they were geniuses or anything.

  4. Amanda permalink
    November 16, 2011 8:02 pm

    Finally! I find someone who thinks “At Last” is overrated. The melody is boring and the song has been overplayed to death. Why does everyone declare this song to be the greatest love song ever? I don’t find this song romantic. I find it annoying.

Leave a Reply

