Skip to content

Friday Fun Links

January 14, 2011

To read:

– Awesome tumblr: To My Wife // Notes for my future wife

Don’t Expand Your Influence, Deepen It // Donald Miller

Space Invaders // Using 2 spaces after a sentence is wrong. So STOP it.

To see:

To watch:

[Totally taken from Tyler Stanton’s blog. Which you should read.]


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Schniff Schnaff Shalomie permalink
    January 14, 2011 1:05 pm

    Great Friday Fun Links.

    1) Good stuff from Donald Miller.

    2) This is the first I’m hearing of “double-spacing” being questioned, or here, violently hated. I was taught it this way, which is why my thumb did it just now before I realized it. I’m fine either way, but I’m amazed someone could read this and possibly hate me because of the ridiculous gap I’m leaving.

    3) The steering arrangement on that bike is amazing, and I would like you to find a video clip.

    4) Has anyone been watching “The Event”? Because, in light of that, these pictures of Connery are concerning. Seriously. Twenty years between these two pictures; you could even switch them and it would be hard to tell. In fact, he looks older as Dr. Jones. Is he pulling a really slow Benjamin Button?

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      January 14, 2011 1:39 pm

      I remember being taught the double space thing in middle school and then being vehemently taught not to do it in college. It’s just unnecessary and messy looking. I wouldn’t say I hate it, but it is one of my pet peeves. And it makes sense not to use it any more since proportional fonts are the norm. Anyway!
      I haven’t seen The Event or Benjamin Button, but it is pretty crazy how similar he looks after 20 years. But I can’t say I’m surprised–it’s Sean Connery, after all.

  2. Schniff Schnaff Shalomie permalink
    January 14, 2011 1:05 pm

    Hold up, did it automatically adjust my spaces? Snap.

  3. lindzshaw permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:02 pm

    I really enjoyed reading “tomywife.” It made me smile quite a bit!!

Leave a Reply

