Skip to content

30-Second Thoughts

February 2, 2011

Last week Jon Acuff wrote an entry on Stuff Christians Like about creating your own love languages. For those who don’t know what a love language is, Gary Chapman wrote a book years ago outlining how different people feel loved in different ways. He broke it down into five categories (physical touch, quality time, acts of service, words of affirmation, and gifts). My love languages have always been gifts and quality time, but I’m adding a new one: reading my blog. Want to show me you love me? Read my blog. I’m only sort of joking. So thanks to everyone who takes the time to come here and read my nonsense and ramblings.

Have you noticed that a new step in the process of getting over a breakup seems to have been added to the mix? After depression, but before anger, comes the step of posting emotional or cryptic quotes on your Facebook and Twitter. Some people go the route of using a quote to make a dig at the ex, while others use quotes to show that they’re strong and getting over the breakup quickly. Oh 21st century—you crazy thing, you!

This week’s lesson: Don’t jump the gun when you spill something on your phone. I’m a total klutz and I tend to walk into corners and spill beverages and food with more frequency than I care to admit. I spilled coffee on my phone this week and it stopped working. After a few hours of the phone being dead, I went ahead and filed an insurance claim online. Later that night it began working again. Thankfully, though, I was able to send the new phone back and they’ll be refunding my deductible. Moral of the story: Keep coffee away from your phone and don’t rush into any sort of insurance claim. Bonus lesson: Coffee-scented phones make me crave coffee more than usual.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

