Skip to content

Valentine’s Day Round-up

February 14, 2011

Despite what it may appear, based on my series The Search for the World’s Worst Chick Flick, I’m actually a sap. A complete sap. I cry every single time I watch the movie Up. I get emotional just talking about the ending to Homeward Bound. I’ve read and reread O. Henry’s short story “The Last Leaf” dozens of times and I still get teary-eyed at the end.

But instead of writing a defense of Valentine’s Day, I’m just going to post a few of my favorite sappy or sweet posts and pictures today. Go ahead, hate on Valentine’s Day if you want. Or just celebrate Discount Chocolate Tuesday tomorrow.

Leave Cupid Alone, You Snobs: A great article from Slate.com that sums up why I am not a V-Day hater.

Watching the couples go by: One of my all-time favorite articles. “But to the man whose hand or arm she is holding, she is not ‘average.’ She is the whole world to him…Fundamentally, she is the most valuable thing in his life.”

Sharideth Smith and I frequent some of the same blogs, but I never read hers until last week. Now I’m hooked. She’s hilarious and has some great insights on her site A Woman’s Guide to Women: A Blog for Men. Last week she posted the 10 worst gifts and the 10 best gifts for Valentine’s Day. Also good: The Keeper and An Open Letter to Nice Guys.

Bear Mauling

Click and ClackI won’t overwhelm everyone with sappy romance links, so I’ll end with this:

Bright star, would I were stedfast as thou art–
Not in lone splendour hung aloft the night
And watching, with eternal lids apart,
Like nature’s patient, sleepless Eremite,
The moving waters at their priestlike task
Of pure ablution round earth’s human shores,
Or gazing on the new soft-fallen mask
Of snow upon the mountains and the moors–
No–yet still stedfast, still unchangeable,
Pillow’d upon my fair love’s ripening breast,
To feel for ever its soft fall and swell,
Awake for ever in a sweet unrest,
Still, still to hear her tender-taken breath,
And so live ever–or else swoon to death.
– John Keats

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

