Skip to content

High School Regrets

February 16, 2011

This past Sunday I received a Facebook notification that I have been added to the group for the CHS class of 2002 10-year reunion. This notification was followed quickly by about 439 more notifications of people posting exclamations to the tune of “OMG! Are we really that old?”

Yes. Yes we are.

If you’d asked me 10 years ago (or 9 at this point, actually) where I’d be today, the scenario I’d have painted would have looked pretty different than where I actually am. What really struck me was how many of the names in the group I didn’t recognize. I’ll be the first to admit that I was not what one would classify as a social butterfly in high school. I kept to myself and was perfectly content with my small group of friends. I never did anything rebellious. Ever.

Okay, fine, there was that one time we got caught buying sodas when we weren’t supposed to. All the drink machines were on a timer so you could only buy drinks during certain times of the day. We found a machine that had a broken timer and took advantage of that sucker like a loophole in the tax code.* But then we got caught and received a stern talking to from an assistant principal.

Let me tell you something: The newspaper staff may have looked mild-mannered, but we were heck-raisers who drank our fair share of contraband Mountain Dew.

Oh, and there was the time I called a cowboy in Texas from the phone in our newspaper classroom. I had gotten the phone number from a tourism book in the library. I’ll bet that was a confusing line item in the school’s phone bill.

What can I say? I was a fan of cowboys.

Anyway, what was the point of this post again? Oh right! Ten years after high school my only regret is that I wasn’t more sociable. Maybe I’d have more memories and stories to tell if my high school experience consisted of less reading after school and more socializing.

You heard it here first, kids: Sometimes it’s better to socialize than it is to sit at home alone and read.

Am I the only one with regrets about high school? Come on—out with them so I feel less like a loser.

*Yeah, I don’t know where that comparison came from either. Left field, perhaps.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 11:39 pm

    can i just regret high school in general and leave it at that?

  2. Paul permalink
    February 17, 2011 9:14 am

    You’re not the only one. Your experience pretty much mirrors mine, except I had different school-newspaper-related escapades. I jumped out a window once to get a photo of some geese.

    Also I don’t think I ever called any cowboys.

  3. February 17, 2011 11:16 am

    I don’t know that I really have any regrets about high school, but that certainly does not mean that I want to redo it. I’m happy for what it was, but happier that I’m not in that place in my life anymore. =) Great post.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      February 17, 2011 4:22 pm

      Totally agree–I have regrets, but none that make me actually want to go back to high school!

  4. February 17, 2011 3:34 pm

    I’m thankful that high school kinda sucked for me. It made college all the more better…more…more better…er…

    I didn’t get rebellious until my senior year when I went to skip day, and I got fussed at from Momma because she swore they were gonna fail me for missing too many days. All of this because I went to skip day, left by 10AM so I could go to work early, but was still around when the cops arrived.

    I do wonder whether I’ll get notificated about our 10-year reunion (should be sometime this year) because I’m not on FB. How in the world did we ever get invites out about these things before we surrendered our lives to the network of sociality?

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      February 17, 2011 4:21 pm

      I figured that Facebook had made class reunions irrelevant! We already know what everyone is doing 10 years later because most of us are on Facebook talking about it. And it’s a lot harder to lie about what we’ve been up to when everyone can look at our profile and see that we aren’t the ambassador to Freelandia and the inventor of the world’s first marshmallow with a chocolate center.

      I participated in the senior skip day, but with my parent’s permission. Does that take away some of the fun? Probably, but I still didn’t have to go to school, so I was okay with it.

Leave a Reply

