Skip to content

I already know a lot about you…

February 24, 2011

Tyler Stanton has a series on his blog called “I laready know a lot about you…” in which he lists small things that actually reveal a lot about someone. I thought I’d outright steal that idea today and do my own version. Except I’m long-winded so I’ll offer a bit of an explanation for each.

1. You don’t like dogs: I will allow people who have been attacked by a dog exemption from this, but everyone else is subject to my judgment. I have a hard time trusting someone who doesn’t like an animal that loves so unconditionally. Seriously, what happened in your childhood that makes you reject a dog’s love?

2. You’ve ever owned, thought about owning or looked with admiration upon a Hummer: Unless you’re driving one in the military, there is no fathomable reason why anyone would need or should want to drive one of these monstrosities. And since I’m being completely unforgiving, I’ll include the H2 and H3 in this list because I really, really don’t like Hummers.

3. If you like the Aerosmith cover of Come Together more than the Beatles version: That’s just crazy talk. I know a lot of people who believe the Beatles are greatly overrated, but their original version of Come Together is way better than Aerosmith’s cover.

4. You give up on your team after the first mistake: I won’t name any names, but there is a school near me that has some of the whiniest fans I’ve ever met. First, they love to hate other teams more than love their own. But what really irks me is that they give up on their team or start talking about giving up as soon as one mistake is made. Not cool, not cool at all.

5. You only eat one Pop Tart: I hardly ever eat Pop Tarts. As delicious as their over-processed flavor is, they’re basically rectangle cookies, so I have a hard time justifying them as a breakfast food. However, when I do eat them on special occasions and holidays (such as National School Breakfast Week), I eat both. Why would you only eat one, when a package contains two? You’re just going to leave that one Pop Tart to go stale? Why would you do such a thing?

Your turn: What is something small that actually reveals a lot about a person?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 10:45 pm

    well stolen.
    sadly, I don’t like dogs. I know…I’m a terrible person.

    hilarious list.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      February 25, 2011 2:47 pm

      Thanks! And I’ll try not to hold the dog thing against you. I’ll judge, but not condemn, you, haha.

  2. February 25, 2011 1:26 am

    #4…you wouldn’t be talking about the LSU Tigers, would you? Or would that be the New Orleans Saints? (I know you said “school,” but it applies very well to the Who Dat Nation).

    My addition would be: How you respond when I introduce myself. Do you give me a weenie cold fish handshake? Do you get past the pleasantries and then walk away? Do you even look me in the eye? Do you give a good, firm handshake and reflect the amount of respect I’m showing you? This clearly requires further explanation; I think you’ve just inspired my blog post for the night!

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      February 25, 2011 2:45 pm

      Nope, not LSU, although I suspect every area has their own version of LSU and the school I’m referencing.

      Totally agree about the handshake. Nothing is worse than a cold, dead fish handshake.

Leave a Reply

