Skip to content

Lent: A Rambler’s Post

March 9, 2011

2.8.11It’s a little embarrassing how annoyed I get at my computer. Sometimes I really do feel like throwing the whole thing off of something very tall. Very, very tall. If I had an insurance policy on my computer, I would be incredibly tempted to commit insurance fraud on this sucker so I could get a new one. To give you an idea of how pathetic my computer is, my iPod’s hard drive holds as much as my laptop. Sometimes I feel guilty for the hatred I level on my computer like a laser beam. He has, after all, been a somewhat trusty companion. And it’s not his fault I bought a cheap computer. But the anger—oh the anger—I feel when I just want to work and he is taking fourteen times longer to process something than a normal computer…it makes me lightheaded.*

I had never even heard of Lent until college, when some of my friends began discussing what they were giving up for the 40 days. I guess you can blame that on my Baptist upbringing in the south. I’ve still never observed Lent, though I have been thinking this year about what I would give up. For a variety of reasons, the things that are most popular to give up (certain foods and anything online) aren’t really an option for me. But I kept thinking about simplicity whenever I thought about Lent.

Down the street from my childhood home was a small grocery store named Red and White. In the summer, my brother, our friends and I would walk to the Red and White to buy a drink and some candy or whatever struck our fancy. Sometimes we would pool our money to buy ice pops, and then spend the next few hours constantly checking to see if they were frozen yet. The whole transaction usually cost $1.06. Fifty cents for a candy bar, fifty cents for a drink, and six cents for tax. Just a dollar and six cents and our summer day was perfect. The grocery store shut down years ago and has since been boarded up.

I miss the days when something as simple as $1.06 made the day great. I miss not having to check Twitter, Facebook, e-mail, text messages, voicemails, and whatever else to make sure you’re caught up with the world. I would love to give up all of these things for 40 days, but in my position and in this day and age it’s not really possible. Maybe someday soon I’ll be able to give these things up for weeks at a time because I won’t be constantly hoping to receive an e-mail about a job, but until then I’ll have to settle for time restrictions. No e-mail or Facebook or Twitter after X time in the evening.

Until then, though, I’ll continue sweet-talking my computer into cooperating (all while imagining what he’d look like being thrown from a tall building). Or perhaps for Lent I’ll give up these bouts of anger toward my computer. Not sure if that’s a legitimate thing to give up, but surely I’d learn something from it regardless.

*Not really. I think that would be a sign I need anger management classes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 1:29 am

    One problem: computers are female. Otherwise, great post.

Leave a Reply

