Skip to content

A Love Song to Converse

March 11, 2011

So tell me what happened.”

Okay. Here’s the thing. I made a New Years resolution to try new things and get out of my comfort zone. You know—eat new foods, go on adventures, and meet new people…”

I could sense his impatience and I knew the time for stalling was ending.

But I’m also a bit of a klutz, so I should have known to draw the line somewhere and put safety first. That’s what everyone says—safety first!”

My nerves were starting to show and I could see that he wasn’t going to just let me slide.

So tell me what happened.”

But it’s about more than just trying new things just to try them! I wanted to expand my horizon and see what life’s like for people with a heart for adventure! I wanted to walk down the street and for people to be able to look at me and say ‘Now that’s a woman who isn’t afraid of excitement!’ You know?”

Yes, well, they’ll definitely notice you as you walk down the sidewalk now.”

The realization of being the object of stares and questions of “what happened?” for the next 8-10 weeks hit me. I knew I’d have to start making up stories of what happened. A skiing accident, perhaps? Or maybe I was saving a baby from falling off a cliff in its runaway stroller.

So tell me what happened.”

Fine. I bought a new pair of shoes. And apparently, when I started searching deep into the recesses of my self for my inner ‘super-tall high heel wearing fashionista,’ the reason I couldn’t find that part of me is because it doesn’t exist. Apparently, my lack of grace extends not only to sports, but also to wearing tall shoes with mesh uppers. Apparently, when the description said that it’s ‘time to live your wildest dreams,’ they were only talking to girls with good balance.

So, I was walking down the stairs at the mall when I tripped on the third stair from the bottom and tumbled right into the Dippin’ Dots stand.

The bad news is that my shoes were ruined and I broke my ankle. The good news is that I got a free sample of Dippin’ Dots. I really did feel like I was eating the ice cream of the future.”

-End scene-

I found these shoes online and was reminded of why I stick to Converse and ballet flats. An imagined scenario of what would happen if I wore these shoes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

