Skip to content

Are You Watching a Chick Flick?

March 29, 2011

For the last few months I’ve reviewed movies in search for the world’s worst chick flick. But what exactly makes a movie a chick flick? I was thinking about this and decided that it might be helpful to make a flowchart. And I hadn’t watched a new movie to review this week. The next time you’re in the mood to not watch a chick flick, but you aren’t sure if the movie you’ve chosen is one, break out this chart, answer a few questions, and the answer will be revealed. It’s like a treasure map! Or every other flowchart that has been posted on the internet lately!

Flowchart

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 1:45 am

    When Curious Case of Benjamin Button came out, I wanted to see it. My thought process was, “Hey, interesting story about a guy who ages backwards. I want to see it.” So, since I had a chick friend who was free, we went to see it after getting dinner. After three trailers before the movie, my head was spinning: “Why is every trailer for a chick flick? Oh noooooooooooooo.” Thankfully, Amanda had been my friend for long enough to know we weren’t on a date, and if it WAS a date, I was the worst date ever because we went dutch.

    So, my suggestions for future chick flick reviews (since these are ones I’ve seen and am more likely to read the post on): TCCBB, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Bridget Jones’ Diary (original). I only saw the latter two because of a women’s literature class I was in. Big props went to my roommate at the time who told his girlfriend he had to hang up the phone, and willingly sat through BJD with me. Extra man points for him.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      March 30, 2011 2:54 pm

      Oh snap! I’ll definitely have to review Bridget Jones’ Diary. I saw it a long time ago, but even my hazy memory gives me an idea of a lot of things I could say about that movie. I haven’t seen TCCBB because it seems like a movie you need to be in the mood for and I just haven’t been in that mood yet.

Leave a Reply

