Skip to content

Writer’s Block

March 31, 2011

OreosI have writer’s block. I can’t think of anything to write about. I sit and stare and think about what I could blog about. But all I end up thinking about is whether or not Double Stuf Oreos are on sale.

When that doesn’t work, I peruse the news or other blogs and hope it sparks creativity. Instead, my head gets so full of their words, that I can fit any of my own. My brain ends up looking like this: 

Then I start looking at photos, hoping something funny will inspire me. But I just end up wondering why I can’t be this funny:

Or this funny:

Fanta-sea

I continue going down the rabbit hole called the Internet until I realize that I just spent two hours looking at photos and planning on how I could develop my own Cicely, Alaska.

Suddenly, I realize I haven’t posted or written and daggum thing and I’m still uninspired. However, I’m currently accepting investors who want to help me found Cicely, Alaska. Apply within.

Do you have any writer’s block remedies?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 11:42 pm

    Do something that’s creative and not language-y. Whether that’s coloring, cleaning, building something with your hands, whatever.

    Scratch that. Do something menial. Think about stuff while doing said menial task. Then write about whatever you thought about. If you’re like me and need an energy drink to focus your thoughts so they don’t go all over the page, do it (use it sparingly).

    If you run out of menial tasks, do whatever you can that’s creative but doesn’t require speaking or writing. In the meantime, don’t tweet, chat, read, anything.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      April 7, 2011 4:03 pm

      Thanks Zechariah! These are really great tips. I have found that doing something menial that lets my mind wander is great for coming up with writing ideas.

  2. July 29, 2013 9:35 pm

    Using cavity closers can also help you get any glue from the decal off of the door unit carefully,
    drill the holes into brick floor, taking care not to
    over-tighten the thumbscrews. Interior doors are
    generally overlooked when redecorating or renovating a home, sometimes they just get in the way, the old doors,
    simply lift them out of the way.

Leave a Reply

