Skip to content

10 Things

April 28, 2011

The following are 10 random things that make me laugh smile or just feel happy all-around.

1. Correct pluralization of words and phrases such as brothers-in-law, secretaries of state, and culs-de-sac.

2. These 14 seconds that inspire nostalgia like few other things in this world.

3. Discovering there’s a huge blackberry bush in the adjacent (and unoccupied) yard that reaches over to our yard.

4. Having a friend ask me to DVR the royal wedding so when I watch it, I can blame it on her and not on my own shame-filled curiosity.

5. Horse racing movies. Dear Penny Tweedy, You rock my world. You make me want to go buy a race horse against the advice of everyone else and then stick it to them by being awesome. Sincerely, Tiffany

6. Writing in cursive, which is apparently a dying art. Hopefully this means I’ll soon be able to write in cursive and people will believe it’s some sort of secret code or language. I will then think to myself “Ha ha suckas! It’s just my grocery list!”

7. Thunderstorms that make the afternoon seem like evening (because it gets so dark) and make it impossible to watch TV because the rain on the tin roof is so loud. All of this, minus the tornadoes.

8. The theme song for the show Friday Night Lights is so perfect and wonderful and amazing, that I listen to it every time I watch an episode. No need to fast forward that sucker. Also, if you’ve never watched Friday Night Lights then you’re missing out and I think it would really take our friendship to the next level if you watched it. I’m just saying.

9. Haikus make me smile
And think outside the box, right?
Fried rice for dinner

10. This.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Your Mama permalink
    April 28, 2011 6:11 pm

    I meant the father of a friend when I was in college and I remember two things about him: 1-He had a great sense of humor and 2-His cursive handwriting was like a piece of art. Cursive writing is beautiful when done correctly.

  2. April 29, 2011 2:17 am

    #6: It’s better for the literate world that I don’t write in cursive. Just trust me on that one.

    #8: I’m the same way with Community and The Office.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      April 29, 2011 4:09 pm

      I’m also that way about The West Wing. Whenever I watch them on DVD, I always listen to the intro.

Leave a Reply

