Skip to content

I’ll Give YOU Something to Smile About

May 11, 2011

A certain portion of the population suffers from a condition where they don’t look like they got their daily dose of rainbows and glitter. I am a member of this group, and despite appearances, I’m a generally happy person. Although I don’t walk around with a smile plastered on my face, I am usually in a good mood and thinking about pleasant things like puppies, flowers, and the Green Bay Packers.

However, this population also suffers from persecution. Okay, maybe persecution is a strong word, but considering the urge I have to punch the persecutors in the face, I’d say it’s pretty accurate.

You know who you are.

You’re the people who tell me to smile.

Throughout my life, I’ve had acquaintances and friends alike tell me to smile. I’d be walking down the hall in high school and someone would say “Hey! Smile Tiffany!”

[Insert elaborate daydream of hitting them over the head with my algebra book.]

Or someone would eagerly tell me that it takes more muscles to frown then smile.

Well congratulations Dr. Perky, but I’m not frowning. This is called my regular “I’m thinking about places to hide your body” face.

Seriously, though, I don’t really daydream about hurting these people. But is it really necessary for me to prove that I’m a happy person by walking around with a grin on my face? I always thought that constantly walking around with a grin on your face was a sign of one of the following:

1. I’m up to no good.

2. I’m one brick short of a full load.

Do I have a scowl on my face? No. Is my mouth actually frowning like this :-(, or is it in a “neutral” mode that is neither a frown or a smile? Yes, Holmes, it is. It is not a frown. It’s in neutral. Either give me something to smile about (I can give you suggestions, but most of them begin with “G” and end in “ift card.”) or leave me alone in my neutrality.

What about you? Have you ever had someone tell you to smile, which really defeats the purpose because it makes you want hit them over the head with an umbrella?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. E-Marie permalink
    May 11, 2011 5:04 pm

    Preach on, preachah! So true. Perhaps you have also encountered my nemesis, the person who asks you if you’re OK or perhaps a bit grumpy just because you answered their question of “How are you today?” with a regular “fine” or “good” instead of a super bubbly “Super fantastic!”

  2. Your Mama permalink
    May 11, 2011 8:25 pm

    Ahh you speak the truth little grasshopper.

  3. May 12, 2011 2:12 am

    When i get in the zone with repetitive tasks, everything else goes away. I was serving food at camp one time, zipping along doing tons of trays of food per second, when one of the cooks told me to smile. My response: throw out the biggest, fakest, cheesiest grin I could, just to prove it was a bad idea.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      May 16, 2011 1:52 pm

      I hear ya–there’s no smiling in The Zone.

Leave a Reply

