Skip to content

Photo 115

May 12, 2011

5.12.11

Another in the series of photos from my time at a summer camp. Painting rocks was one of the activities from the last summer I worked at camp. You might be thinking to yourself that painting rocks sounds like it’s about as much fun as…well…a pile of rocks. But trust me—it’s fun. I still have several of my projects and sometimes think that all I need is a half hour of painting rocks to help me sort out my thoughts. Can you think of anything more relaxing than painting rocks? Nope. You can’t.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    May 26, 2011 2:06 pm

    I found your site as I was looking for stuff about painting rocks that we are doing in Bible School at church. Painted rocks are so cute. Several years ago, I went to the mountains of East Tennessee and found rocks sort of shaped like houses and painted a village. My son placed the houses in his landscape; to this day, they look beautiful! Yes, painting rocks is such a calming hobby. They can be used anyplace as an accent for a room, outside, etc. I like the photo of the different colors with lots of brushes in cups. That is a good idea for keeping the paint “straight” with a bunch of kids using it at once. But it doesn’t matter, mixed colors are pretty also!

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      May 26, 2011 2:45 pm

      Thanks for the comment! Painted rocks are so much fun! Your painted village sounds really cute too. I’m sure the kids at Bible School will love painting rocks. It’s always fun to try and imagine the rock as something (like watching clouds go by) and then painting it to be something new.

Leave a Reply

