Skip to content

An Open Letter to my Friends

May 17, 2011

Dear friends,

I’m just going to throw this suggestion out there. I’ll hoist it up the flag pole and see if anyone salutes. I’ll put it on the porch and see if the cat licks it up. I’ll throw it into the wind to see if anyone catches it.

You get what I’m saying.

TrampolineDo you remember when we were kids and someone would get a trampoline for their birthday or Christmas or just-because-they’re-spoiled-and-rich-and-wanted-one-even-though-it’s-not-currently-a-gift-giving-holiday? Those were the best days, right? So let me just suggest that one of my friends should buy a trampoline. We could jump and jump and jump on it for hours. And since we’re older now, maybe we won’t try anything stupid that would get us hurt.

We could even camp out on it during the summer and make up games involving some sort of Marco Polo variation. Doesn’t that sound amazing?

You might be wondering why I’m not buying one myself. I’ll tell you: I’d rather spend that money on something like new music or to expand my collection of vintage Pyrex dishes. I also don’t have a place to put it.

So what do you say? How about one of you goes out and buys the trampoline and I’ll make some brownies to bring over to our jumping extravaganza. Don’t worry, we’ll eat the brownies after we jump so we don’t vomit. 

Your friend,
Tiffany

PS As long as we’re reminiscing about Awesome Things From Childhood, I think I’ll put those glow in the dark stars on my ceiling. Those things were the BEST.

*I thought that since this post is about something from childhood, I should have artwork that looks like it was drawn by a child. Hence, the illustration that was done in about 5 minutes in Illustrator. It also means I don’t have to steal artwork from Google images. Two birds, one stone. Also, someone needs to cut their grass, according to this image.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Your Mama permalink
    May 17, 2011 5:42 pm

    Where is the safety net enclosure around the trampoline?? Otherwise you could bounce off the crazy thing and fall into the tall grass.

  2. May 18, 2011 1:56 am

    I’m all in favor of this. I also tragically have no room for the trampo*. I do have room for a large kiddie pool, though, and would be willing to purchase one of these. I also have a truck for carrying said large kiddie pool as well as the trampo while it’s still in the box. At least, that’s how I assume they come. How DO you move a trampo?

    *I feel awesome for having come up with a slang word we should’ve used the heck out of back then.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      May 18, 2011 4:43 pm

      I really wish trampo had been thought of before you posted, because I got kind of tired writing the whole word over and over.

      A kiddie pool is a great alternative! And probably safer…

Leave a Reply

