Skip to content

Hosting Etiquette and Shoe Etiquette

May 18, 2011

I have a lot of great friends. People who would do anything for me, including telling me that my obsession with working The West Wing into everyday conversation isn’t that weird. But you know what else my friends have in common? Footwear etiquette.

People exist in this wonderful world of ours who insist on going barefoot inside houses. If they want to do that on their own time, in their own home, that’s their choice. I ask only one thing: Don’t force your beliefs onto me.

Yes, it’s your home, but I’m a guest. Not only that, but I think it’s weird that you care more about the cleanliness of your floors than you do the comfort of your guests. The fact of the matter is that my feet get cold a lot and I don’t really relish the idea of watching Dodgeball while wondering if I should be able to feel my feet or not. Actually, I don’t relish the idea of watching Dodgeball at all, but that’s a whole different conversation about the difference between humor and vulgarity.

I digress.

Let’s talk through this issue. As a fan of cleanliness, I understand the need for clean floors. That’s why God gave us vacuum cleaners and mops. Use them on a regular basis and you can let go of your OCD tendencies while simultaneously giving your guests the freedom to wear their dadgum shoes in your dadgum house.

I’m guessing that if Emily Post were still around, and if we still cared about things like Emily Post, she would ensure us that as a host, the comfort of guests is of the utmost importance. Since things like common courtesy are not all that popular any more, let me just say this: How much I enjoy going to your home is directly related to whether you make me take off my shoes.

It’s also directly related to whether or not you make me watch nature documentaries where a baby elephant is separated from their mother.

Again, I digress.

So let’s all take a moment to remember that only Fascists force their beliefs onto their houseguests and keep our shoes on for the good of mankind, freedom, and the pursuit of warm feet.

Does anyone else get annoyed by this? And if you make your houseguests take off their shoes, why? Do you hate your friends?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Williams permalink
    May 18, 2011 5:08 pm

    You are welcome at our house anytime and we don’t make guests take off their shoes but what we have noticed that if one guest takes off their shoes then everyone coming in after them that sees that pair of shoes takes theirs off as well no matter how many times you tell them they can keep on their shoes – guess that is the power influence of peers 🙂 You being the editor just cringed at that long run on sentence 🙂

    Hope you are doing great!

    Amy

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      May 18, 2011 6:11 pm

      I’ll keep that in mind and keep my shoes on in your house! And you make a good point about the herd mentality! Makes me wonder how many times I could have kept my shoes on at someone’s house! 🙂

  2. Heather Coates permalink
    May 18, 2011 7:48 pm

    I’d be one of those sly rebels who ‘doesn’t hear’ when I’m told to take off my shoes, and when I’m told to go take them off, I’d either just walk out and go home OR I’ll claim a horrible embarrassment of my feet and that I’d prefer to keep them on. I mean, really, if somebody’s super self-conscious about their toes and you tell them they MUST take off their shoes…do you go up to an arachnophobe and say they HAVE TO sit under the giant spider web? No! Leave my toes alone!

    Also: if you JUST got new carpets in, sure I can sorta see the whole ‘I want to keep it clean’ thing, but only for the first week. Unless you plan on keeping plastic on your new floors all the time, or you can levitate, somebody will get something on your carpet. Dirt is a natural thing. Carpets are ok with dirt, and we should be as well.

  3. May 19, 2011 10:06 am

    I love this! My sister wants me to take my shoes off every time I go to her house and almost every time I forget. I don’t count as a “guest,” so I don’t really mind her rule, but I like my shoes. I don’t like having to take the extra 2 minutes to re-tie my shoes when I leave either.

Leave a Reply

