Skip to content

Friends: Teaching Me Lessons Every Day

June 1, 2011

Sometimes I feel like I’m several steps behind all my friends in this wonderful journey we call life. Most of them are married, buying homes and cranking out babies like it’s going out of style. Being slower than the rest is fine when you look at this way: You can learn from them and look way smarter and more prepared when your time comes around. Let me explain in a way that utilizes one of my favorite things in the world, the list.

Wedding planning: Oh friends—girls and their families go crazy-balls when it comes to planning nuptials. I am a planner myself, so it’s something I look forward to doing if my turn comes around. But I learned from my friends long ago that you should lay down the law from the outset. This is your wedding, and not your aunt’s, who thinks you should have red roses instead of pink hydrangea. Also, choose your bridesmaids wisely because those chicks can either make it fun with their antics, or make you want to slap them in the face with their bouquet of hydrangea.

House buying: Umm…buying a house is HARD. It’s not just looking at a few places and writing a check. I would characterize it to be closer to selling your soul to a bank for an extended period of time. But hey—you get to paint the walls whatever color you want! And then there’s the actual upkeep after you buy a place. In case you didn’t know this, landlords and maintenance guys only exist for rentals. Just go watch HGTV for a few hours and you’ll see that the whole thing is no joke.

Populating the earth: Phew boy have my friends cranked out little humans. I will never enter a state of pregnancy with rose-colored glasses, because my friends ripped those suckers off my face years ago. Sure, it’s a miracle and you get a cute kid you can dress any way you want out of it. But then you have to pay for their college and make sure they don’t meet stalkers on the internet. And don’t even get me started on the actual nine months when the thing is literally a parasite that has the potential to lay you on your back feeling like your body is rejecting its own stomach. Like I said, though, you get a cute little human out of the whole thing!

What have you learned from friends already “going ahead of you” on life’s journey? Or what do you wish you had known?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Strayer permalink
    June 1, 2011 4:08 pm

    Oh the hilarity.

    Living with me during the first trimester would be enough to scare the pregnancy rose colored glasses off you. If your future husband wants biological kids, I will apologize to him personally.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      June 2, 2011 3:40 pm

      Ohhh yes. Your first trimester was definitely the hardest I’ve seen anyone go through. Of course, meeting Darby has definitely made it clear that it’s totally worth it!

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    June 1, 2011 4:58 pm

    I love this. I have had the exact thought about weddings. I even said to my mom, “The good thing about all my friends getting married before me is that I learn what to do and not to do for my own wedding.” She wasn’t quite as enthusiastic as me; I guess she didn’t feel that benefit outweighed the fact that I’m still single.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      June 2, 2011 3:38 pm

      I’m sure your mom will learn to appreciate it when you’re planning your own! 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

  3. June 2, 2011 3:15 am

    Marry the right woman. Right around the time I got unengaged, I had several friends getting divorces. Made me glad I didn’t end up marrying the girl.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      June 2, 2011 3:41 pm

      Very true! Thankfully, I haven’t had to see any of my close friends go through a divorce. But seeing how happy they are has made it clear that it’s SO important to find the right one so I can be just as happy!

Leave a Reply

