Skip to content

The World’s Worst Chick Flick Part 20: Life As We Know It

June 7, 2011

I guess you might call Katherine Heigl the Katherine Hepburn of our generation for two reasons:

1. They share the same first name.

2. There was a period in Hepburn’s career where nobody liked her either. (Until she was in The Philadelphia Story and then everyone loved her again because that’s one of the greatest movies of all time, forever and ever, amen.)

Other than that they don’t really have anything in common except being skinny and having long hair. A lot of people don’t really like Katherine Heigl (I even saw an interviewer ask her about it, so this isn’t just my opinion.) because she seems so…type A stuck up, maybe? I don’t know for certain.

I didn’t really mind Heigl in 27 Dresses, but most of her other movies are blah. She always plays the uptight perfectionist who gets drunk once in the movie, and in doing so realizes she loves the guy she thought she hated. So going into Life as We Know It, I had very, very low expectations. It seemed like it was going to be Three Men and a Baby without the humor or Tom Selleck’s mustache, and who wants that?

I must admit, though, that having low expectations paid off because I didn’t hate this movie. The premise is this: Holly (played by Heigl) is set up with Messer (Josh Duhamel) by her best friend. Messer is Holly’s best friend’s husband’s best friend. Did you get that? Anyway, for future reference, Holly and Messer’s friends’ last name is Novak. On their first date Holly and Messer don’t even leave the house it’s so apparent that they’re horrible for each other.

Once their friends get married, though, they are thrown together at social events, including the first birthday party of their friends’ daughter Sophie. Sadly, their friends die in a car accident soon after that birthday party and leave Sophie in the care of Holly and Messer. They move into the Novak home (mortgage having been taken care of) and begin raising Sophie. Then they fall in love, stuff happens, and then they live happily ever after.

When the Novaks died, I briefly thought about calling my best friend and imploring her to never drive again. Either they did a pretty good job at showing the sadness and devastation of losing your best friend, or I just get way too into movies.

I guess my only real complaint about this movie is that Heigl plays the same tired character again. Duhamel is also the same “I can get any woman to sleep with me” type of guy who suddenly realizes he doesn’t want to sleep around any more because he’s in love with a woman he used to hate. Yeah, that’s believable.

Now, what I’m about to write may further prove that I over think these movies, but just go with it. This is how these stories (real and cinema) usually work: Two people meet, like each other, love each other, get married, have kids, and then things get harder because kids complicate things (not in a bad way necessarily). In this movie, however, the couple is complicated, they are granted custody of a child, then they like each other, then they fall in love. This probably means that this movie is totally and completely unrealistic, except I can see how it would work because their trials start to bring out the best in each other.

Oy vey—I’m over-thinking this, aren’t I? Maybe the whole “best friend dying” scenario got to me and is still lingering. I think I need to watch a Nicholas Cage movie to realign my movie meter.

Overall, though, I’d say this movie is more believable than most of the chick flicks put out these days. And they didn’t rely on deception to get together. AND it takes place in Atlanta, a city that is not New York. Can you believe it? People outside of New York City can and do fall in love and they can and do make movies about it! Huzzah!

Movie Scale: Life as we Know It

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 10:09 pm

    Thanks for the tip! I’m going to add it to my Netflix queue 🙂

Leave a Reply

