Skip to content

Facts of Life: Lay Off my Hometown

June 27, 2011

I’ll just go ahead and admit it: I grew up smack dab in the middle of redneck central. Before we go on, however, let’s get something clear. Rednecks are not just a southern thing. Rednecks are everywhere and the only difference is the accent. But rednecks in the south get a lot more flack than those anywhere else, and because of this, my small hometown gets little sympathy from non-residents.

Now that we’ve cleared up this common misconception, let’s get down to brass tacks and talk about the facts of life: Unless you are from my hometown, or even the redneck county in which it is located, keep your mouth shut about its shortcomings. I am well aware that we have an abundance of tanning salons and some people like to decorate anything with surface area using camouflage. But these things are only to be made fun of if you reside within the same zip code (or did at some time).

I was under the impression that this was common knowledge? Along with never making fun of someone’s family, you don’t make fun of their hometown. Some things are off limits. And yet people continue to make jabs about people from my county.

I cannot tell you how many times people have accused my fellow residents of being “simple” or uneducated because they went to school in this county. News flash: I’ve met people from a lot of different towns, cities, and counties, and geography has little to nothing to do with a person’s capacity to learn. And doesn’t making fun of an entire county show your own ignorance? I’m just saying.

So here’s the deal. I won’t make fun of your hometown, and you don’t make fun of mine, and we’ll all live happily ever after in our less-than-perfect towns. Deal? Deal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 4:48 pm

    Louisiana’s like Momma: I may see her shortcomings, but she’s still my Momma and not yours. Lay off.

Leave a Reply

