Skip to content

Accidentally Liking Movies

August 9, 2011
tags:

Have you ever watched a movie with severely low expectations, ready to add it to your list of hated movies, alongside 70% of the movies made by Robin Williams? Then you’re sitting in the theater (or on your couch) and you find yourself getting sucked in and wondering why your brain is letting you enjoy a movie that should be putting you to sleep.

For me, that movie is Thor. We saw Thor at the dollar fifty theater this weekend because my boyfriend wanted to see it, and I gave in with full intentions of using this experience as a reason why he should watch Crazy Stupid Love with me later.

And then I kind of didn’t hate it. Then I kept thinking about it and I hated it even less. Then I realized I’d probably see the inevitable sequel they’re going to make because that’s what Hollywood does.

The upside to this movie is that it cemented my belief that only men who are up to no good wax their eyebrows. It also has Anthony Hopkins doing what he does best: Being old and wise.

The downside is that it’s still a movie where more than half of it takes place in some distant galaxy with a neighboring planet full of scary blue guys. If I wanted to see scary blue guys, I’d just watch The Blue Man Group (Don’t even try to convince me those guys aren’t just a little creepy. If they were painted white, like the glorified mimes they are, this wouldn’t be up for discussion.)

I like outer space and all, but only as that thing we explore with telescopes, and not as a central setting for a movie plot. Even if that plot is part of a grossly overrated movie franchise.

*cough* Star Wars *cough*

Afterward I still made jokes about Thor being a bad movie. It still had holes in the plot large enough for Thor’s hammer.* But maybe this is proof that my tastes are broadening away from Jane Austen adaptations and anything starring Tom Hanks.

Have you been pleasantly surprised by a movie lately?

*Note to self: Use the “large enough that it had to be made by Thor’s hammer” metaphor sometime soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 6:46 pm

    Vampire’s Apprentice. Kind of a dark comedy i guess, but much better than Twilight and not a full blown spoof like Vampires Suck.

  2. August 10, 2011 12:10 pm

    You know every time you pick on Star Wars, you’re picking on Liz Lemon. Think about it.

Leave a Reply

