Skip to content

NFL Season 2011: Don’t get Throat Punched

September 8, 2011

I updated my About page today because it had been a while and I no longer drink Diet Dr. Pepper. These are the days of our lives, friends.

NFL logoIn other news, today marks the beginning of the NFL season. I’m particularly excited about this season because the Green Bay Packers won the Super Bowl last year. But there is something that I’m not looking forward to.

Here’s how it usually goes for me. I tell someone I’m a Packers fan, and they often jump to wrong conclusions. For several years, a lot of people assumed I like the Packers because of Brett Favre and his “dreamy chin stubble.” The only good thing to come out of this was that I learned a lot about self control. Otherwise I know several people who would have been throat punched.

Now that Favre is retired for good, (fingers crossed) people might assume that I’ve been wooed by Aaron Rodgers and his thick-lashed eyes. First of all, I am not wooed by eyes alone. Second of all, the man has issues with hair. Why do so many men insist on growing their hair out, even though only 1 percent of the male population looks good with long hair? The rest of you just look like you’re grasping at rock band aspirations that are never going to happen.

The same goes for mustaches, by the way. If you’re growing a mustache to be funny or ironic, then I’d suggest you go back to the drawing board and try for something a little less creepy.

Now there is the fact that they won the Super Bowl. This is the perfect time for bandwagon or fair-weather fans to crop up and start sporting a cheesehead. I don’t blame them and I welcome with open arms anyone who is willing to support the green and yellow.

On the other hand, if anyone mistakenly assumes that I’m a bandwagon fan because I’m a girl, and we make up 90 percent of the bandwagon fan population, I reserve the right to pour a pot of melted cheese all over you. I’ll try to make sure it’s the kind from Moe’s so you’ll at least enjoy eating it with the bag of corn chips I’ll also provide.

However, can we please just agree to assume the best about sports fans? Whether they’re male or female, young or old, new to the team or a life-long fan, let’s just assume that the reason they became a fan consists of more than “the star player is cute” or “Old Navy had this shirt on sale.”

I’m sure it would save us all from being throat-punched or covered in queso dip.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 5:34 pm

    I agree with the fact that females receive unfair criticism when it comes to being a fan of a particular team. Great to see a woman who truly cares about and enjoys rooting for a sports team, very refreshing.
    I would really appreciate some feedback on my blog @ http://manello33.wordpress.com/

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      September 8, 2011 7:44 pm

      Thanks Matt! I took a look at your blog and promptly added it to my Google reader. It’s always great to read about sports from a new perspective and I’m sure I’ll learn a lot!

Leave a Reply

