Skip to content

Happy Surprises and Lots of Loose Change

September 27, 2011

Have you ever noticed that there seems to be an unwritten rule that people aren’t supposed to talk about how great it is to be in a relationship? The occasional comment about how wonderful their significant other is can be expected and accepted, but “occasional” is the key word here. Why? Because single people are sensitive.

I know this because I was one of those single persons until about eight months ago. I felt the need to prove to everyone that being single has its benefits and I was just fine by myself. Which there are benefits and I was fine with it, but it’s easy to get defensive when coupled up people try to tell you that being in a relationship is great. It’s like someone telling you how awesome it is to be able to eat anything they want and never gain weight.

But now I’m seeing life from a different perspective. A perspective that leaves me wondering, why can’t I make a list of the reasons it’s great to be in a relationship? I’m not trying to rub it in anyone’s face—I’m just happy!

Bottom line: I want to make a list of some random reasons why I love being in a relationship without worrying that I’m going to be labeled as insensitive. Besides, I promise not to be too gushy. These are some of the unexpected benefits, not the things we all know will happen.

1. Lots of change: I’m not talking about the kind of change that results in a move to a different city. I’m talking about the kind of change that falls out of my boyfriend’s pockets. I find change almost every time he sits down. It’s like winning at a slot machine in Vegas just being around this guy. (It’s like winning big in other ways too…d’oh! I broke my not-too-gushy promise. I’m not sorry.)

2. Built in dates: I’ve always enjoyed weddings, but did you know that going to a wedding with someone can be just as fun, if not more so? Why? Because it makes you feel a little less conspicuous during the bouquet toss and you know you’ll have someone to talk to, even if you don’t know many people at the wedding (or other events).

3. They actually mean it when asking “How are you?”: I’m sure we’ve all wondered what would happen if we answered truthfully each time someone asked about our day. But it’s nice to have someone ask you each day, and actually expect an honest answer that’s more than a few words long.

4. Compliments about your beauty are not born out of common genetics: When your mom says you’re pretty, you think, “Yeah, but you’re my mom.” This guy tells you and you think, “Aw shucks…and he didn’t even have to say it.”

5. He’s an on-call walking partner: I really love going for walks, but have watched entirely too many murder mystery shows to do so alone in parks or at night. Fret not, though, because my boyfriend loves walking too and will beat up any serial killers or punks trying to steal our lunch money.

6. An answer to prying questions: Yeah, I know. I haven’t done much with my life, unlike your child who is married and producing children. But at least I have a boyfriend, right? Sure, my career is moving slower than a Buick Le Sabre on a back road when you’re running late…but at least part of my future is unfolding, right? Right?!

7. Your suspicions about most romantic comedies are proven correct: My lack of patience for chick flicks is no secret. There are those that I love, but most made in the last 15 years make me hang my head in shame for the way they portray romance and love. So I’m happy to report that the movies are wrong, and 85% of relationships do not start out with deception or dishonesty. Score one for fans of old fashioned romantics!

Those are just a few of the benefits I didn’t expect. If you’re single, what are some benefits to being single (like not having to share your dessert or not having someone talk in the middle of a movie).

And if you’re dating or married, what are the unexpected benefits you’ve found? 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 6:49 pm

    My now-husband and I have been together since I was a sophomore in high school, so having been through the most melodramatic single years with my friends I know what you mean about keeping your mouth shut about how great your relationship is.

    I like having someone around who always gives you that extra push to get dessert. When I’m by myself, I can sometimes have self control, but when someone else wants to make a late night ice cream run, too, I just can’t help myself (this can be good and bad, obviously)

  2. Amanda Strayer permalink
    October 5, 2011 7:09 pm

    There are lots of wonderful benefits of being in a relationship! And I’m so glad you’re happy! I love it! 🙂

    An unexpected great benefit I’ve found is that my husband has a crazy insight about people. I have learned to trust his judgment and would have avoided some weird situations if I had listened to him. There is also the benefit of not having to deal with bugs. And there is always someone in bed to grab on to when I hear a creak on the stairs that I’m convinced is a crazy axe-murderer, which has not yet turned out to be. But my ears are perfectly in tune for it, just in case.

Leave a Reply

