Skip to content

Friday Fun Links

September 30, 2011

– One of my favorite books is Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. They’re finally making a movie about it, and it stars Sandra Bullock and Tom Hanks. Check out the trailer, then go buy the book if you haven’t read it already. 

 

– Are you watching Happy Endings? If not, explain yourself. If you have, then you’ll understand my giggle when I say Penny Hartz-Hitler. If you need to be convinced, then watch the first two minutes of the season premiere here. I honestly laugh several times during each episode.

– Rob Bell has been all over the news this year. First, because of his book Love Wins. Then last week he resigned from his church. Lo and behold, one of the reasons he resigned was because he’s developing a TV show with Lost creator Carlton Cuse. Read about it here, but first can we all just say “huh-whaaaa?” I’m intrigued by the whole situation, because I was a fan of Lost and I find Bell intriguing. Should be interesting to see how this all pans out.

– Tomorrow is October 1, so even if it stays warm for a while longer in my neck of the woods, it’s hard to still call it summer. So as I say goodbye to summer, here’s a quick illustration of what summer has come to mean for many people:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 1:00 pm

    I sat at dinner with friends last night begging them to watch Happy Endings as if I was the publicist and my children would be unable to eat if the ratings didn’t improve.

    Just added Safran’s book to my checkout list 🙂

  2. Amanda Strayer permalink
    October 5, 2011 7:00 pm

    Okay I almost cried just watching the trailer. I must read that book now.

Leave a Reply

