Skip to content

What I’ve Been Up To

October 31, 2011

Almost two and a half years ago I was laid off from my job as an editor for a church. I know what you’re thinking. Churches have editors? Or were you thinking, churches lay people off? Yes to both of those things. Except churches don’t really have editors any more. Or at least the church I worked for doesn’t have one any more because they laid me off. Aaaaand we’re back to the beginning of the story.

So I was laid off and I moved a few months later and got a part-time job in retail. Then I moved again and got a different part-time job in retail. Then I moved back in with my parents and tried my hand at freelance.

It’s like the opening to a Zach Braff movie, right?

First of all, let’s just give a standing ovation to people who work in retail.

::Slow round of applause as I nod my head and bite my lower lip, looking earnest in my awe at their ability to put up with shoppers.::

I discovered that working in retail is exactly what God did not call me to do. I know this because the very idea of working in retail ever again is on par with the idea of taking a math class taught by Fran Drescher with the sound of someone scraping their fingernails on denim as the background music (because all math classes have background music).

Hopefully that stint of working in retail is my only stint because last week I started a new job. That’s one of the reasons I only posted once last week. Because let me tell you—blogging is even harder when you have a job outside your house and you can no longer write an entry in the middle of the day while watching “How I Met Your Mother” reruns.

So if you’ve been wondering why my posting has been infrequent, it’s because I’m now working 25-30 hours a week for a printing company as their designer. My hope is that interacting with real live people will give me more to write about than what’s on my Tivo or Google reader. If not, I could always start writing another series on the search for the world’s worst movie, this time focusing on action movies.

So far working in the real world again is quite refreshing. It’s a lot easier to relax when you feel like you’ve earned it. Hopefully I’ll find my rhythm and get back to semi-regular posts. And then I can regale you with the titillating stories from the world of printing. Calm down, everyone. I know you’re excited.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 8:57 pm

    I’m so glad you are doing something you want to do. It’s not really work if you like it. Cheers

  2. October 31, 2011 9:25 pm

    Congrats on your new job! I agree- I find it much easier to relax when I feel like I deserve it!

Leave a Reply

