Skip to content

An Intervention About Goats

November 9, 2011

So here’s the thing, friends. I’m a little concerned for you. Worried, in fact. Here’s the situation. Last year I wrote a mediocre post about a stuffed goat head we used to pull pranks at a summer camp. Since then, that post has been far and away the most read post on my blog. Each week it gets more hits than anything else, and several searches come in each week about goats or white goats.

What the heck are you people doing with all these goat photos?

Actually, I don’t think I want to know.

But is there some sort of underground obsession among Americans with goats? I know bunnies, puppies, and cats always make the rounds on the internet, but goats? Am I missing a LOLGoats reference or Daily Goat website?

If I’m using my brain, I’d guess most people are doing a Google image search and ending up here, but that still begs the question of why so many people are searching for a picture of a white goat. I like to imagine it’s because there are a lot more goat farmers in the world than I realized. Because let’s face it—goats are hilarious and you can never have too many goat farmers (herders?).

So if any of my readers got here because they searched for goats, and they stuck around, fess up and let me know what the heck is going on.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lissard8 permalink
    November 14, 2011 5:11 pm

    It’s because they’re the only thing that can beat kudzu: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/05/us/05goats.htm

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      November 15, 2011 6:07 pm

      I’ve heard about that! So hilarious!

Leave a Reply

