Skip to content

The Days of Being Carded are Over

November 14, 2011

In six days I will be 28 years old. I think everyone reaches an age where they are glad to be mistaken for being younger than they are, even if it’s just by a few years.

The other night I went to the grocery store and there was a young woman in front of me buying an adult beverage. The cashier, who wasn’t a day older than 16, asked for her ID. When it was my turn to make a purchase that requires you to be of a certain age,* the cashier didn’t bat an eye and rang me up without ever asking for proof that I am of age.

Here’s how I handled the situation when I got to the parking lot:

You’re probably thinking I’m crazy, and I don’t blame you. But come on, kid! You couldn’t throw me a bone? You couldn’t just let me believe you weren’t quite sure I was old enough? The girl in front of me—who was buying pomegranate raspberry Michelob**—couldn’t have been more than two years younger than me.

The thing is, most places require their employees to ask for ID from anyone who looks younger than 35, rather than anyone who looks like they might not be 21. Just as a precaution. So does this kid think I’m 35? Do I need to start sleeping in Tupperware? Should I start buying those Groupons for half-off Botox treatments? Or should I just forgo all of this and go straight to the source and let that kid know the grevious faux pas he made by not asking for my ID, even though he asked for Pomegranate Raspberry’s ID?

These are the days of our lives, and the overreactions of our time.

*Did you know that some states require ID to buy rubber cement? You can decide for yourself if this fact is relevant to the story.

**Why yes, I am using the Judgmental Italics on that.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Zechariah Brewer permalink
    November 14, 2011 6:37 pm

    I get it from both angles. Undergraduates think im ancient at 28 and high school life think I’m their age. I don’t get it.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      November 15, 2011 6:08 pm

      That’s why I like senior citizens–they always think I’m younger than I am. That, and the endless supply of hard candies.

  2. Your Mama permalink
    November 14, 2011 11:22 pm

    I can’t get pass the idea of Michelob selling fruit flavored beer – Yuck! I guessing you looked more responsible therefore no ID check.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      November 15, 2011 6:09 pm

      That’s the excuse we’ll go with. Maybe he just couldn’t believe anyone older than 21 would want to drink that?

  3. Ellen permalink
    November 15, 2011 2:42 pm

    Judgmental italics are totally in order on that one.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      November 15, 2011 6:09 pm

      Haha, thanks–I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who thought so.

Leave a Reply

