Skip to content

My Trip to Hogwarts

November 22, 2011

This Saturday a dream of mine came true. I was invited to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. My invitation arrived by owl on Saturday evening while I was in Richmond visiting friends. The owl landed right on the front porch and directed me to the Hogwarts satellite campus, which was conveniently just down the road

When I arrived at Hogwarts, I was greeted by Severus, who gave me my very own wand and cloak, and yelled at me for going too far down the hallway (Oh Snape!). Luna Lovegood welcomed us and served us butterbeer, but not before I had to defeat a Dementor with my patronus (which was a dog, of course).

Mad-Eye Moody also came to the party. At least, I think it was him. He was drinking out of a flask a lot and we all know what happened the last time Moody was drinking out of a flask. In the photo you can see Mad-Eye looking clearly unimpressed with a Dementor, whose flying looked more like that of a hippie, than a soul-sucking monstor.

For dinner we had magic wand mozzarella sticks, dragon meat with buffalo sauce, chocolate frogs, gillyweed dip, and chocolate fondu in a hot cauldron.

As if that wasn’t enough, there was even a moving photo, and Moaning Myrtle was being nosy in the bathroom.

I don’t mean to brag, (lie) I seriously have the best friends in the world.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Schniff Schnaff Shalomie permalink
    November 22, 2011 4:44 pm

    Yes you do. Yes you do.

    But also, thanks for having a birthday and all, because it was a pretty fun evening. And it’s not often I get to use my Snape voice (though I was practicing around the house that weekend, and Becca didn’t seem to get annoyed.)

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      November 22, 2011 5:07 pm

      Well, I do what I can and try to have a birthday at least once a year. So anything I can do to help! But again–thanks. It was amazing!

  2. Amanda Strayer permalink
    November 26, 2011 8:49 pm

    Holy moly the moving picture goes on for 6 minutes! That is dedication, and wonderful! I am so glad you had fun.

Leave a Reply

