Skip to content

In Which I Board a Train

January 13, 2012

In a few hours I will be boarding a train and traveling a couple hours west to visit friends. I’m not really sure how this will go. Although I’ve spent the large majority of my life living less than 50 feet from a rail line, I have never been on a real train. I’ve been on subways, but not trains.

The issue is that I get motion sickness. I keep peppermint Altoids and Dramamine in my purse for just these occasions. But the Dramamine hasn’t always been there, because did I mention? I threw up the first time I ever flew in a plane. It was my junior year of college and we were going to New York City for a journalism conference. We were in one of those planes that was so small, upon seeing it I started to wonder if they used a large slingshot to fling it into the air in the general direction of NYC.

By the way, if you’re looking for a way to bond with the girl from your college whom you barely know, but will be sharing a hotel room with, I wouldn’t suggest vomiting right beside her. I also wouldn’t suggest using this as a tactic for making yourself seem like a classy young adult, rather than someone who grew up in a town known for having a KKK billboard outside its town limits until the 1980s.

Yeah, you read that right.

So you can probably see why I’m a bit nervous about the possibility of adding “train” to the list of places where I’ve yakked up my dinner. I’ll keep you updated on the whole situation via Twitter, especially if this train ride turns into something that would be made into a movie starring Denzel Washington and Chris Pine.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 4:36 pm

    Turn it into a game. Make a list of all the places you want to try and throw up. Then you can tell your kids about it someday.

Leave a Reply

