Skip to content

Living Outside the Bubble: An Announcement

February 24, 2012

It’s kind of amazing that at one moment you feel like you’re living in a glass bubble that is stuck in cement and won’t let you move or change. Then almost three years later you look back and see that the bubble has been shattered and you’ve been traveling on a rocky, but wonderful, road.

All of that is to say that somehow I went from not knowing what lay ahead, to knowing that my future includes marrying a wonderful man. I don’t know exactly what lies ahead, but I’m excited to spend it with him.

Two weeks ago Ben and I went with my parents to adopt a new puppy. I was pretty excited for them, and my excitement was even greater when they agreed to name him Gryffin. First name: Gryffin. Last name: Dorrin. Full name: Gryffin Dorrin

Harry Potter lives on, y’all.

The adoption of Gryffin has nothing to do with the rest of the story, but every good story should have cute animals.

Photo by me

That evening we went to dinner at Fox and the Hound, the restaurant where we went on our first date last January. In case you’re into details, we each had some sort of sandwich that was on a pretzel. A pretzel, folks. A PRETZEL.

I love America.

Last May we had taken a day trip to a waterfall a few hours away, and on our way back made a spontaneous trip to the Morehead Planetarium. It was one of my favorite days ever and the type of day you think about when you’re stressed out and need to go to your happy place. So after dinner we headed to the planetarium, and at this point I’m thinking to myself “Heck yes! Put a ring on this finger!”

We made it just in time for the 7 p.m. show and learned about some of the legends behind the constellations (many of which involve love and weddings). After the show Ben told me he had something for me and we went outside. He got a bouquet of roses for me out of the trunk and we walked over to the ginormous sundial in front of the planetarium. He told me there was an extra rose in the bouqet and pulled out a ring box in the shape of a flower.

And then he got on one knee.

And I said yes.

And we celebrated and then quickly went back inside because the wind was blowing a thousand miles per hour and it was negative 57 degrees.*

Ben had talked to the staff at the planetarium ahead of time to tell them what was happening and to make sure they had a show on Saturday evening. So when we went back inside, he introduced us and we showed off the most perfect ring in the entire world.

There you have it! We’re planning for August 11 and I can’t wait!

Bing photo by me

Here are the specs for the ring: It’s a marquise cut aquamarine (my mom’s ring is an aquamarine). It’s surrounded by tiny diamonds and has diamonds on the band. He bought it on Etsy (swoon) from a woman who bought it at an estate sale. It’s even prettier in person.

*That’s the approximate temperature as taken by a Southerner who considers anything below 65 degrees to be cold and cruel.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Schniff Schnaf Shalomie permalink
    February 24, 2012 7:13 pm

    First, it’s about time this blog was posted. Much thanks.

    Second, I had a Red Robin burger on a pretzel bun. YES. Delicious. But I had it at another place that ended up tasting like a normal bun. So choose wisely.

    Great story. Your future husband gets two enthusiastic thumbs up from me.

    Oh, and great puppy name.

  2. February 29, 2012 12:49 pm

    Congratulations!! That is such an awesome story, and I absolutely love your ring! I just got engaged in December, so I can totally relate 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!

  3. April permalink
    April 4, 2012 2:45 pm

    I remember years ago laying (or lying?) underneath the stars on the Appalachian trail and thinking that right there would be an incredible place to be proposed to. The planetarium? Possibly just as incredible! And your ring is one of the prettiest, classiest, and most unique that I’ve seen. Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

