Skip to content

Another Shot

March 12, 2012

When I started this blog it was supposed to be a way to get the word out that I was available for graphic design jobs, as well as a way to hone my writing. It morphed into, more or less, a way for me to write silly things that would hopefully make people laugh. And that became a daunting task, because sometimes I don’t have anything funny to write and I began to put a lot of stock into whether or not people thought my posts were funny or clever or whatever else I wanted them to be. This happened with my last blog, except it was more about not wanting to be so serious all the time. Then I started to wonder about what I want this blog to be about.

I’m not a mom, so it can’t be a mommy blog.

I’m not an avid DIYer so I can’t turn this into a DIY blog full of tips.

I don’t have the sort of profession that could turn this into a blog full of tips and tutorials, unless you want to hear me rant about bad grammar and ugly typefaces.

I don’t like blogs that are always serious.

I don’t want the pressure of always having to be funny, because sometimes I just want to rant about the injustice of what’s going on in Uganda.

I don’t have enough interesting or entertaining things happen to me for this to be a “day-in-the-life” type of blog.

And so I’m left with the option of just doing whatever I want without having a cohesive theme to the blog. But isn’t that the worst thing to do? At least that’s what I’ve heard and that’s what I’ve been afraid of. People want to come to a blog knowing what to expect.

But then I remembered something—I should be doing this for me. One of the reasons I never enjoyed journalism was because the majority of stories I had to write were boring and had been assigned to me by someone else. I didn’t care about what I was writing, and so I was uninspired until the very last minute. Even then it was the adrenaline of being late that inspired me more than the actual story.

So from now on I’ve decided to write what I want on this blog. Sometimes it will be serious, and other times silly. Sometime it might just be a photo or an open-ended question. I may never gain another reader in the world, but it will at least be a way to pour out my creativity into something, and write down my thoughts. And maybe you’ll enjoy it and even comment once in a while. I hope so. Because among the haters and detractors found so easily on the internet, there are even more encouraging and wonderful people out there, wanting to join in and build a community.

So here we go.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Schniff Schnaf Shalomie permalink
    March 12, 2012 4:18 pm

    I support you. I will still read.

    But let it be known that a blog-worthy story needs to come out of the upcoming visit.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      March 13, 2012 4:51 pm

      Yes! I’m sure a blog-worthy story will come from this weekend. Can’t wait!

  2. March 12, 2012 10:11 pm

    Just you being you is enough…and i can’t wait to see what happens and get to know you!

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      March 13, 2012 4:50 pm

      Thanks! Hopefully I’ll find that it works out!

  3. March 13, 2012 12:50 pm

    I struggled with this same issue, but honestly, some of my favorite blogs are those that are funny, spiritual, serious, random rants, etc. I will definitely continue reading!

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      March 13, 2012 4:48 pm

      Thanks Elizabeth! I’m glad you’re sticking around. And I agree–most of my favorite blogs are random. Which I guess is like most people!

  4. Ellen permalink
    March 13, 2012 2:06 pm

    I stumbled on your blog by accident at work and check it on the regular now 🙂 I really enjoy the randomness and find your writing very funny. Keep up the good work!

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      March 13, 2012 4:45 pm

      Thanks! Glad you stumbled over!

  5. Meredith M. permalink
    March 14, 2012 10:11 am

    I think your writing style is hilarious, but I like the serious posts too. Every time I read I think to myself, “we should really hang out more!” I constantly have to remember that I can’t please everyone and I should write about what makes me happy.

    By the way, I think it would be awesome if you just randomly started writing like it was a mommy blog.

Leave a Reply

