Skip to content

The Hubcap

April 16, 2012
tags: , ,

I’ll admit it. I scrape curbs. This tendency has resulted in the loss of all four of my car’s original hubcaps. I lost the last one this morning on my way to work. Someday I might buy my car a set of rims with spikes to scare away all the oversized SUVs, but until then I’ll stick with cheap hubcaps. As I saw my hubcap fly to the side of the road this morning, I couldn’t help but imagine it was excited to be freed from the terror of impending scraping that comes with being a part of my car. And so I wrote a poem about it. Naturally.

You rolled behind me
Like a spinning top.
The sun glistened on your face
And you were free
From the circular prison.

I imagine
You burst forth with a resounding YAWP
And a cry of glee
You rolled across the road
And stopped at the nearby coffee shop
You ordered a latte
And added an extra shot of espresso

I hope
You find a new home
Where your owner won’t hit
So many curbs

But most of all
I hope
You spin.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2012 11:58 am

    No good poem is complete without the use of the word yawp.

Leave a Reply

