Skip to content

The Return

October 23, 2012

I’m pretty good at making excuses. My favorite excuse for this blog has been “I’ll start next Monday.” But Mondays are the worst. The only thing Mondays are good for are football and saying “Monday is the worst day of the week—let’s not start something new on Monday.” And so taking a break from blogging to get married turned into taking a six-month sabbatical.

But no more, my few friends who will still check this blog! No more! Because today is Tuesday! And Tuesday is a great day to start something new (or restart something). This is my grand announcement to all five of you who asked when I would start blogging again. Tomorrow we’ll kick things off with a quiz. About politics. But don’t let that scare you off because I promise you won’t actually need to know anything about politics to take the quiz.

Since this is just a short blog post, I’ll leave you with this question.

Do people in Japan always cook dinner in front of their entire family, tossing rice and vegetables at each other, and making volcanoes out of rice? You’d think that would get old really fast. Why else would every Japanese restaurant feel the need to make us watch a show for our meal? I just want my food without having to applaud the cook for not gouging anyone’s eye out with a spatula. Could there be a more awkward way to get a meal? I’m trying to talk to the people I came with, but I feel obligated to ooh and ahh the guy throwing the sharp objects around. “Oh that’s nice! Good job throwing that ball of rice in my friend’s mouth! Did you have to go to school for this? Or is this an ancient Japanese tradition passed down from generation to generation? Oh! You learned this is New Jersey? Well isn’t that nice. Can I have my food now?” No, you can’t. You have to watch them light a smiley face on fire first.

Welcome back!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stray-Dogg permalink
    October 24, 2012 12:31 pm

    Welcome back, indeed!

Leave a Reply

