Skip to content

Back in the Habit (and a new house)

August 11, 2014

It’s been a while. I hope you’ve been doing well, and chasing your dreams and/or watching lots of marathons on Netflix. After a short foray into the world of DIY and food blogging, I’ve decided I belong in a world that requires less food photography and more off-the-cuff writing. The biggest news since my last post actually happened today: My husband Ben and I bought a house. Our first house.

I’ll be honest with you. In the past I was not always the most empathetic person when I’d hear about the stresses of searching for and buying a house. I thought, “What’s the big deal? You get to look inside the houses of strangers (a behavior normally frowned upon) and then you get to sign some paperwork and buy one.”

For my ignorance, I am sorry. It is stressful. Mainly because other people are also looking for a house, and they just might buy your dream house before you do. Then there is the whole mortgage thing. Not to be dramatic or anything, but I was more nervous about having a mortgage than I was about getting married. I’m not sure what that says about me, but I like to think it’s because I trust Ben a lot more than anyone involved in a mortgage.

Thankfully, though, we found a house in a great neighborhood, with a yard full of trees, and tons of potential. Right now it’s quite dated, complete with wood paneling. This is exactly what I was hoping for, because if a house needs to be updated, I’d rather do the updating. I did not want to pay an extra $10,000 because the previous owners added granite countertops that I will probably not like.

Soon, I will be posting my guide to buying a house for people who are as clueless as we were. All the guides I found used words a first-time homebuyer would not know without doing lots of Googling. And nobody has time for that.

Until then, I will be packing and unpacking, and spending copious amounts of time on Pinterest.

P.S. Today is also our second anniversary. Happy anniversary Ben! Celebrations all around!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2014 4:55 pm

    YAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSS. I’m so glad you’re blogging again!

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      August 11, 2014 6:50 pm

      THANKS! 🙂 Perhaps we’ll have to do a linkup between blogs sometime.

Leave a Reply

