Skip to content

Are We Really Pro-Life?

December 12, 2014

I’m writing the following to my fellow pro-life Christians.

First things first, I am pro-life. Let’s just get that out of the way. I believe women have been given a huge gift and responsibility to bring life into this world, and that each and every one of those lives is precious and deserves a chance to live a full life. I don’t always agree with the way in which fellow pro-lifers express these views, or engage with pro-choice advocates, but I am fully pro-life.

Many of you are also pro-life. I’ve seen the articles you post on Facebook about miracle babies who survive the abortion procedure. I see the studies showing the correlation between abortion and depression. I see the sermons, Bible verses, and other Christian writings extolling the sanctity of life in all its forms.

Wait, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to write “in all its forms.” I meant to write “only when you deem it worthy or deserving of a fight.” I’m assuming that’s what you all mean since I don’t see any outcry over two states each executing an intellectually disabled man this week. And I’m guessing that’s what you mean since I haven’t seen anyone posting rants about the CIA torturing fellow human beings–made in the image of God–for information that was often incorrect. And I’m guessing that’s what you mean since your first reaction to the death of a black teenager is that he shouldn’t have stolen cigarettes, rather than sorrow at the loss of another life.*

Before you start writing a reply about how those people were evil, or were punks and (probably) headed to prison eventually anyway, please hear me out.

For ALL have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.”

There is none righteous, no not one.”

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

I’m sure each of those sounds familiar, and you probably memorized these Bible verses as a kid in Sunday School.

Each of the people in the examples above fell short of the glory of God. Each one sinned. Each one deserves death, and deserves hell, by our own Christian standards and beliefs, as lined out in the Bible.

And yet. And yet! God demonstrated His love toward us, by sending His son to die for ALL SINNERS. Even the terrorist. Even the kid who stole cigarettes. Even the intellectually disabled man who killed someone.

Even the mom who does the best she can, but she still makes mistakes. Even the dad who loves providing for his family, but still gets angry over little things. Even all of us who never break a single law, but still sin every single day of our lives.

All of us.

And so this is my question: Why do we fight for the lives of some people—for some sinners—but not all? Why do we say that some people are worthy of life, but not others? Why do we give up on some people, saying they’ll never come to know Christ, but not others? Why are we ok with the killing of some lives, but not others? Why is one death seen as justice handed down by a flawed, manmade system, and the other is murder? Why are we ok with throwing the first stone, but then confess with that same voice that all have sinned and are deserving of death?

Are we really pro-life, or are we only pro-baby-who-hasn’t-messed-up-yet?

I know we can’t fight for everything. We all have things about which we’re passionate, and for many people it’s the right to life for unborn children. I get that. I’m not expecting everyone to be passionate about everything, because then nothing would get done after we all became burnt out.

All I’m asking is for us to examine whether we’re truly pro-life, including people who have made horrible, evil mistakes. Including people who have sinned in the worst way possible. And especially when it’s an intellectually disabled man, with an IQ of 70.

 

*The Ferguson case is not a simple case, and there’s a lot of conflicting information. I’m not taking sides in whether either person was wrong in what they did, because it’s impossible to know what really happened, and I know police officers are often trained to “empty the chamber.” It is not an easy case. At all. I am, however, taking issue with people who automatically assume that Michael Brown was in the wrong because they think he’s a punk kid. Whether or not he was wrong, it is a tragedy that he died. However, I will take sides in the Eric Garner case, and say that the grand jury was absolutely wrong in their decision.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

