Skip to content

Why I Stopped Reading Your Blog

December 29, 2014

I’ve been regularly reading blogs for more than 10 years, just a few years after people actually started making money off of them. I’ve had 3 or 4 different blogs during that time, and all but this one were abandoned after a year or so. Even this blog gets abandoned a couple times a year.

Back then I had a daily list of blogs I’d peruse, lives I’d peek in on, and stories I felt a part of. Since then, there are only a small handful of those blogs I still check in on. Most of them are lost in my memory. I was thinking about why some blogs stick, and others do not, and I came up with six main reasons why I’ve stopped reading different blogs.

1. Changes in taste or lifestyle:

This happens most often when a blog goes from a lifestyle blog to a mommy blog. What started out as a blog about decorating, or fashion, turns into diaper rash remedies or 45 pictures of their Christmas outfit. There’s nothing wrong with this change—at all—but since I’m not in the market for diaper rash remedies, your blog no longer interests me. This also happens with design blogs. When I started reading your blog, we had the same taste in design, but our tastes have changed, and not in the same way.

2. It’s just one long ad:

I don’t mind ads on your page or even sponsored content. And I’m glad you got a book deal, TV deal, deal with the Devil, or whatever. But when every single blog post somehow miraculously leads back to your book (and that we should buy it), or the ideas presented in your book, then I’m sorry, but it’s just not working out for me. I promise, it’s not you, it’s me. My New Years Resolution is to read fewer ads, and stick to blogs that have new content.

Also included in this are constant giveaways (especially if I have to follow tons of people on Twitter/Instagram, post something online, give you my email, tag other friends, and give you my firstborn child just to win a necklace), numerous updates about your new line of jewelry or home goods, and just a general feeling of “Look at me! Read my book! Follow my lifestyle in order to find true happiness and make your life count for something!”

3. You’ve started taking everything too seriously:

Sometimes I just want to tell design bloggers that everything isn’t a movement. Sometimes it’s just a trend. And a cool picture is not a “moment.” It’s a cool picture. Sometimes it’s ok to stop going 105 miles an hour, and it’s ok to stop trying to make every. Single. Moment. Count. Just chill out and watch 5 hours of Netflix for goodness sake. Stop assigning so much importance to every little thing and try just enjoying beauty and having fun. You don’t have to try and change the world with every single blog post, and sometimes the best way to change something is to just do it. Do you feel strongly about artists being paid what they’re worth? Then pay them what they’re worth. Is your blog geared toward a specific group of people? Wonderful. But when every post becomes about making fun of, or becoming angry at, other groups of people, then I’m out.

Also included in this are bloggers who feel the need to make a comment on every single current event or social cause. We get it. You care about people. So stop lecturing us about it, and just do something. We get it, you don’t like the people in charge. Then go vote or start a viable third party. But first, calm the heck down.

4. Blogger burnout:

I think one of the biggest signs of burnout among bloggers is snark. Suddenly, every post becomes a soap box on which they can air their grievances about everything, but especially about that one group of people they really dislike. Pointing out the flaws in our society is no longer enough, because now they have to make fun of everyone who dares disagree with them. Every YouTube video of someone saying something laughable or outrageous is showcased for their readers’ glee. Every time someone stumbles, it’s their pleasure to revel in it and use it as proof that they were right all along.

Granted, some blogs are built around this type of thing, so it’s nothing new for them. But if your blog suddenly becomes Grand Central Station for everyone who also hates a particular person, and you’re the train conductor leading the cause, then maybe it’s time to take a break and reevaluate the purpose of your blog.

5. You stopped writing regularly:

I am personally guilty of this one. I go through phases where I write regularly, and other times when I’ll go six months without writing a word. So yes, I understand why I don’t have many readers, and so should you, if you only update once a month.

6. Bland content:

What started out as a blog full of fun stories and interesting views on everything things, has evolved into the same old thing every week. Lists are great (duh…I’m writing one right now), but if that’s all you ever post, then I’m going to get bored quickly. Tell me more than what music you’re listening to, or what stories you’ve read recently. Tell me about you.

What are some reasons you’ve stopped reading a particular blog?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2014 3:52 pm

    Agree with 1-6 plus if the posts are too long. 900 words? No, thanks. I’m sure they are good words, but no. I only get a few minutes here and there to catch up online.

    • dtdorrin permalink*
      December 29, 2014 4:02 pm

      Phew! This one clocked in at 896 words, so I just barely made the cut! 🙂

  2. December 29, 2014 9:47 pm

    I quit reading people’s blogs “just to be nice.” I used to read everyone’s that I know, or everyone’s that I follow on Twitter, just to be nice. But I honestly don’t have time to do that, and it’s okay with me that not everyone I know reads my blog. So I decided that other people would be okay with me doing the same. 🙂

Leave a Reply

