Skip to content

Reading, Watching, Listening: Volume 2

January 16, 2015

Reading-01

For the last couple of weeks (I’m a slow reader) I’ve been reading 7 by Jen Hatmaker. I’m late to the party on this one, but I’m very glad I showed up at all. it has given me so much to think about. In 7, Hatmaker spends seven months giving up things for 30 days. Each month it’s something different. She then writes about her experience and what she learns from it. The seven areas of excess that she gave up were food, clothes, spending, media, possessions, waste, and stress.

Last August, Ben and I bought a house and moved. As I packed up our relatively small house, I was grossed out by how much stuff we owned. I started going through stuff, making a pile of things to sell or give away. And oh, the amount of time I waste every day on Facebook, or Buzzfeed (Twitter isn’t a waste of time, by the way). But another big takeaway was community, and how present her community was during this time. I crave that. I’m hoping 2015 holds a lot more community in our lives.

I’d highly recommend 7 for anyone who has tried reading something like Radical, but struggles with non-fiction. Or if you have ever struggled with the feel that you just have too much stuff, too much to do, too much, too much, too much and that it’s getting in the way of what really matters. Hatmaker is a really engaging writer, and easy to read, even for people like me who struggle finishing non-fiction.

Watching

The last season of Parks & Recreation began airing this week. I love Parks & Rec so much. The first season (which was only 6 or 7 episodes) was pretty awkward, but the leap in quality starting the second season is amazing. I love these characters, but most of all I love Leslie Knope. I want to be Leslie Knope, with a little less manic tendencies.

But what really makes me sad is that NBC is sort of just shoving them out the door. They’re airing two episodes a week to get them through the season as soon as possible. From a network that had such classics like Friends, Frasier, 30 Rock, and more, it’s disappointing to see them snub what, in my opinion, is their last great sitcom. I think maybe we’re just going through a phase in TV where sitcoms aren’t as popular, especially on network TV. People can get their quirky, off-the-wall humor from other places that are more ok with niche programming (Netflix, Amazon, Hulu) that has a much smaller audience. Network TV still has to pay the bills using huge ratings.

Listening

I go through seasons where I’m completely out of touch with new music (indie or not), so I might be totally behind the times when I recommend Gregory Alan Isakov. If you like The Oh Hellos or Alexi Murdoch, I think you’ll really like his style. Here’s a video of one of his songs from a couple albums ago:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

